Adapting Invoices for use as a Delivery Note

Hi Glenn

I’m just following up on the delivery note questions I’ve seen on the forum. We are loving quickfile (thanks!!) but finding that we need to send a delivery note instead of the invoice for each of our orders. This is creating double the effort for us and we’re really hoping to avoid having to change accounts system given how much we enjoy using quickfile.

I"m wondering if a simple solution, rather than going down the entire stock control route, could be to allow for users to enter zero invoices as “drafts” only? This way we could create a zero invoice for delivery as a “draft” and then before being allowed to send the “real” invoice we can quickly change the line item to one with a unit cost.

Essentially, I’d then just setup two line items for each piece of stock: delivery and invoice. I think this could be quite an elegant solution…though I’m not a developer so no idea how this would work on the back-end.

Thanks
-mike.

Continuing the discussion from How do you create a Delivery Note?:

Thank you for the suggestion, I think we need to give this some more thought!

I know that zero value invoices will present us with a bit of a problem, but hopefully we can just create a spin-off template from the invoice that omits any amounts and re-labels accordingly. Perhaps in the “more options” menu on the invoice preview screen a way to “print delivery note”?

1 Like

Hi Glenn

Your idea is perfect. Often all that is required of a delivery note is to have all costs removed (as often those accepting the deliveries are not meant to be privy to the finances). So, the ability to print a delivery note which simply greys/blacks out any cost boxes when printing would be absolutely amazing! This would also save the hassle of having the re-enter items on a draft vs actual invoice from my original suggestion.

I’ll keep my fingers crossed (o;

Cheers
-mike.