Recharge expenses to client option

There seems to be a missing feature in quickfile for expenses. Basically I have to reclaim my out of pocket expenses and mileages back from my own company, and then my company has to charge these expenses in some cases to one of 3 clients. I used to use another accounting package which had a “recharge to” feature which made it very simple. When I did my monthly accounts It would create an itemised invoice with the attachments for each client so my company could then reclaim back from them. I cant see how its possible with QF which means I’m doing the same accounting twice effectively… has anyone a solution or can this feature be added… I’m an agent by the way and I used to use freeagent…

There’s no way to recharge expenses as such, in QuickFile this would need to be allocated to separate sales and purchase invoices. I will however leave this open as a feature request.

Hi Glen,

it really would be a useful feature, today for instance, having completed last months accounts yesterday, I’m sitting here again going through the expenses which I’ve already input (so the info is in the system), and have to compile an invoice to one of my clients, with a “charge to” feature this would have been done at the same time as yesterdays. Can you think of a way to extract these expenses onto one invoice, Could the tagging feature do it?

Hi Glen,

I’m using project tags as a way of selecting the expenses I want to charge to a company called GPS, would it be possible once tagged to turn the list of items into an invoice? if not I have to download into a spread sheet etc etc…

Just to get my head around the requirements here. You’re inputting a list of expenses into QuickFile (logging as purchase invoices) and you’re looking for a way to select a bunch of these expenses and import them into a new sales invoice, with each expense itemised to a line on the invoice?