CIS for Ltd Company VAT registered, No PAYE

Hi

I know this has been covered elsewhere in the forum, but could not see anything for my exact circumstance.

I am a sub contractor working for a company who take 20% from me. I am a limited company who is registered for vat. I do not run paye.

Please can you give me some guidance how to complete my invoices and I beleive I would have to creat a new account also, but not sure what type and what to call it.

Alot of the other examples appear to be for sole traders, or if a company no mention of VAT.

Regards
Laurie

As you dont have any PAYE liability to offset against your CIS deductions, you would invoice your contractor as normal with vat. They will take 20% off as CIS on your labour part net of vat and pay you balance
e.g your sample invoice as follows
Labour 100
Material 50
vat30
total due before CIS 180
CIS deductions (20)
Net of CIS due 160

You can create another bank account called CIS control a/c, once you book your invoice in full 180 in this case, you would get 160 in your main bank account, tag that against invoice then go to your invoice and log receipt of 20 using your CIS account. Your CIS account will show you how much refund your are due at any point of time

Hi

Thanks for the info. My contractor want to see the CIS on my invoice I send them.

Could I setup another account like a discount account and charge it to that.

Invoice he wants is something like this.

Labour per day 20%VAT £160
Milage@40p/mile 20%VAT £ 83.20
Cis deduction 0% VAT -£ 48.64 (minus)
sub total £194.56
VAT 20% £ 48.64
TOTAL £243.20

In my previous accounting package you charged the CIS portion to the Income Tax and NI Liability account. With QF it looks like you can only charge to a sales type account,

Are you sure your calculations are correct?
You can always show CIS due amount in invoice footer for contractor to save him calculations