Default Purchase Catagories

Hi i am new to quickfile (quite happy with the old accounts book but have to go digital, total pain in the proverbial) Our Business is farming and would like to ask if there is anyway to customise the “Default Purchase Category” listing for a supplier. I know i can over type it when entering each receipt but would like to change the defaults to something more suitable.
Thanks

Open the supplier record and click on “Modify Supplier Details”. You will probably need to scroll down, the default category for the supplier is near the bottom of the screen.

Thanks for that but the problem is that there arn’t the categories that i require. i need things like cattle feed, fencing, tractor fuel etc. It apprears that i cant over type them as a thought either

Hi @helen-john

You can create your own if you wish.

If you go to Reports >> Chart of Accounts you can add new ones to suit your business. On the same screen you can also go to More Options >> Add/Remove Popular Codes and hide some of the ones that aren’t relevant.

Thanks
Had just about got there but this will save some time
While I have your attention i have a query that will probably be specific to farming in that when i sell cattle i dont raise an invoice but the purchaser sends me a statement on how much he has paid me. No problem so far but, here is the problem my cattle are zero rated for VAT but there is a handling fee that the purchaser deducts and that has vat applied. this then is deducted from the amount he pays me for the cattle if you get my drift. ie cattle worth £4013.58 handling fee £75.60 + £15.20 Vat (£90.72) payment received £3922.86. Can email you a copy statement is this doesn’t make sense.