Do I need to pay additional tax to HMRC?

I dont know if this is the correct section to post this. Im relatively new to this quickfile thing, and I chose it simply because it has Paypal integration, which I will be using for most if not all of my transactions.

What I need to know and forgive me for being thick, is - this.

I already work full time as an employee, however I have since started an Ebay business which is doing quite well so far and I forsee making anything between an extra £50 - £80 a week. I need to be able to work out how much extra tax to pay on top of what I already pay through my full time job.

I`m using quickfile to keep track of my ins and outs and my profit etc. as everything is done via Paypal albeit with a few credit card transactions here and there (as some of my suppliers do not use Paypal).

How do I calculate the extra tax to pay? Do I need to register as a business with Companies House as well, or notify HMRC that I have an extra income.

Can I pay the extra tax weekly along with my wages tax? (as this would be preferrable as if I keep it in my account I`m bound to spend it).

Sorry but this isn’t a question for quickfile. This is a question for an accountant. Please seek one.

Depending on how much your salary is will depend on what tax bracket and indeed how much extra you will have to pay.

Whether you need to be a Ltd company or a sole trader again is for an accountant to advise you of.

But which ever method you decide of course you need to let hmrc know, you will have statutory requirements to file some sort of accounts or tax return and pay the tax due.

Thanks… I think I`ll HMRC a ring and see what they say.

You need to talk to a qualified accountant who can see your specific situation and give proper advice. There are guides you can find online giving general advice but there’s no substitute for the real thing.