Is my balance sheet right?

Hi i’ve just started trading and using this software and maybe i’m dumb, maybe it’s my age or maybe i’ve never done any bookeeping before but i cant seem to get my very very simple accounts right in this software. My P&L shows me -£124 but the account (until i enter another purchase from yesterday) is in the black!

Looking at the balance sheet is even more confusing, i have brought tools in and given them a second hand value, i entered them as directors loan but the balance sheet seems to show two different figures for these. Any chance someone could take a look and tell me what im doing wrong? i need to loan my company money from my personal account but if i cant make the very few entries balance properly i’ve got no hope of continuing on a path where i’ll be comfortable come year end. FYI i paid £100 in to my company account at start of trading as a purchase for the shares (i’m the only share holder/director)

Kind regards,
Simon
Adaptive Electrical Services Limited

I’m afraid we can’t provide specific advice on your accounts. The balance sheet is simply a balance of all transactions posted to any nominal account within the range of 0 - 3000 (assets & liabilities). If you journalled in the acquisition of the tools from Plant & Machinery to Directors Loan then this would show as two separate balancing entries on the balance sheet. This would be expected.

If you have an accountant or bookkeeper I would have a chat with them just to verify what you’ve done. UK Business Forums is also handy for general accounting advice.

The Profit and Loss Account shows a loss because you have only entered expenses amounting to £124.29 with no sales, therefore your sales less your expenses = -£124.29.