Unlocking VAT return or not?

Hi there,
I’m wondering if anyone can help me, I’m in a right pickle with how to resolve a situation.

To cut a (very long!) story short. We have a customer who had a purchase in our system, they took a direct debit against it which was a partial payment for it. Turns out they had actually issued a credit note against it (which got stuck in spam filters so it was missed) and actually it was a full payment plus would have cleared two other invoices.

In the meantime the VAT return got locked. It’s now been months of me trying to figure out how to sort this mess out, trying to clear it from credit, which won’t match up etc. Accountant says I can’t unlock the VAT return, then said I could and the system says I’m not allowed to because it was electronically submitted.

How on earth do you fix something like this. I’m not particularly advanced and I’m just getting into such a state - can’t get bank statements to match at any point and it’s throwing everything out. Have no idea how to ever get things matching again.

Anybody know how to help me?
Thank you so much,
Tori

Hi @Tori

We’ll try our best to help you out here :slight_smile:

So, just to clarify the situation to make sure I’m understanding it correctly - is this for a sales invoice or a purchase invoice? That is - are they your client, or your supplier?

Hi Matthew,

Thanks for replying.

Sorry - my terminology is off!

They are our supplier. It’s a problem with a purchase in our system.

Thanks so much,
Tori

Was the direct debit amount (the one you thought was a “partial payment”) more or less than the value of the spam-filtered credit note?

So this is how it went:

Original purchase was for £2508.32 (21st Oct)
Then issued another purchase for £501.37 (no invoice sent until after VAT return locked)
Then issued a credit note against the first invoice for £1173.43 (23rd Oct)
The issued another purchase invoice for £386.48

Took direct debit on 11th Nov of £2222.74