Vatable amount not adding up

Not sure if this is the right section, but the Vatable amount on my latest prepared VAT return doesnt tally with the invoices. I have 3 invoices on the system, all including VAT, they are £6055.05 , £9,140.66 , £5,709.83. I am on flat rate scheme at 7.5%. So according to my calcs i owe £1567.92 on the total. but on the vat return form the vatable amount has been added up to £23583.27 (which doesn’t tally with the 3 invoice totals!) and is saying i owe £1768.74. I dont understand why the total isnt £20905.54? Which it should be.

I dont think ive made a studid mistake but feel free to tell me if i have! I am a bit of a novice to the online accounts thing!

Anyone got any ideas?

Hi,
I’ve checked your calculation and it is correct. The only issue I can think of is that flat rate vat is not working/active on your QF.
If you need professional advice and help on QF. please PM me.
Thanks.
Momin - Kube Accounts.

Thanks for reply. This is my third return usin QF and the other two worked fine, so i am still a bit perplexed.

The first step is to download the “export” from the VAT return preparation screen as that will show clearly exactly which items make up the totals for each box.

Are you on cash accounting by any chance? That’s the most common reason for these kinds of apparent mismatches as the cash accounting return is based on the dates of payments received, not the dates of invoices issued. If you’ve been paid during this quarter for an invoice that was raised last quarter, or you’ve been paid in advance for an invoice that you issued later, then that will count towards this return on cash accounting.

The next most likely is if you’ve issued a back-dated invoice after the point where you submitted your previous return - anything in a previous quarter that hasn’t already been locked down by an existing return will be included in this one automatically.