What's the best way for me to use QuickFile?

I’m new to this and want to know if I can use it only to monitor client profitability - do I have to submit invoices?
Can I just enter bank CSV info and tags to achieve this?
Also, do I need to set up a second account to manage accruals?

Hi @freefly

QuickFile is perfect for monitoring things such as your profit and finding out what’s still owed to you (and what you owe).

How you use it would depend on your business model. Generally speaking, the normal way would be to issue an invoice for each client, and raise a purchase invoice for each invoice you receive. However, this can be a bit more flexible depending on certain factors, for example:

1. Are you VAT registered?
  2. Do you operate a shop (whether this is online or bricks and mortar)?
  3. Do you record sales, and issue invoices elsewhere or would you be using QuickFile to do this?

To measure individual client profitability, you could use project tags for your sales and purchase invoices which would allow a project specific Profit and Loss breakdown.

QuickFile operates on the accrual accounting basis, so all this is done for you based on what you enter. But if there are specifics that you need more help with, please ask away! :slight_smile:

Hope that helps.

1 Like

Thanks. To provide more info

1. No VAT
  2. It’s a service business
  3. Invoices are issued elsewhere so I don’t need QuickFile for this
    I have USD and GBP accounts. Can I manually enter the exchange rate?

If there’s no VAT, then you can simply tag “Money In” transactions as “Something else not on the list”, and tag them to 4000 General Sales, if you wish.

What some people find easier, is to raise a daily or weekly invoice. This would also allow you to assign them to specific clients if you wish.