2 bank accounts being used

hi

i found quickfile looking for a excel template to do my books on Sunday, it looks really good and i played with it for 10 hrs so far ,

any way a bit of back ground then a question ( please bear with me, i am a builder and was never any good at school )

we traded as a labour only roofing partnership (cis 20% tax deducted ) for 20 years with 2 sub-contractor working for us also on (20% cis tax) our accountant has been telling us for a long time we had to go vat registered.

so from 1st may 2014 we started a ltd company charging the vat on our invoices been-in paid into our new business bank account but that account was only opened in june

we still had money in our old bank account that we used for running costs, diesel etc.

we was still used the old debt card for fuel and tools till we got money in the new account. We still have some direct debits i.e. phone and insurance that go out of there to date

here is me question

i downloaded my new banks statements from start to now and that went ok. but what or how do i add the expensive from the old bank account so i can have them on the books to do my vat

i tried to down load them but they just messed up my total figures so i deleted them and thought maybe do it as a cash payment but then do i have to withdraw the cash from my new account to balance it ?

which is the best way of doing this ?

the vat should have been done for the 31 july, and i cant keep on putting it off (i did say i was a builder)

thx

kev

The important thing here is who’s name the bank accounts are in? If the old bank account is in your sole-trader name and the new one is in the LTD name, you should not be uploading the old account data into the LTD company account on QuickFile, they are 2 separate entities and the accounting must be completely distinct.

You should therefore have two QuickFile accounts, one for the sole tradership and another for the LTD. Presumably you also have 2 VAT numbers?