Adjusting the price on an invoice or over due invoice

im new to quickfile…

if i do an estimate, and then turn it into a quote.
if i then accept multiple payment for this which are paid via the bank.
if i then agree a final discount or adjusted price on the final amount, how would i do this and keep everything matching up?

example

i invoice a customer for £1000
I receive £100 bank deposit.
I receive £500 bank mid payment.
I receive £350 bank payment and agree that i have discounted the final amount by £50.

how would i actually do this?
if i just kept the invoice at £1000, it would show £50 outstanding.

thanks

Hi @adnw,

The £50 discount at the end could be done by a credit note against the invoice? that would then clear the remaining balance on the invoice :slight_smile:

hi
would a credit note not show as something like a traditional credit not from a store?
wouldnt it show that the customer has £50 worth of ‘credit’

Hi @adnw

Credit note in the sense of accounting is more of an adjustment or refund - it doesn’t give them credit as such (although this is one use of it).

For example, if they’ve paid the invoice in full then you will have the option to either refund the balance to the client (as if you’ve physically paid them back), or hold the funds on account (which gives them credit).

If there’s an outstanding balance on the invoice, the credit note can be used to reduce the amount owed - no money would change hands.

hi
does that mean ill end up with a ‘credit note’ bank account shows in the banking sections which would show all these ‘discounts’?

would that then assume i have actually received £1000 into the company still having the invoice showing as £1000 and the customer as having paid?

or would it show as ive received £950?

i thought i would just adjust the total to reflect the new £950 total?

Hi @adnw,