Applying VAT percentage to items

So, I was wondering whether it is possible for the estimate/quote procedure to automatically apply a VAT percentage against an item line - essentially adding it to the initial item cost but just displaying one figure…the cost including the VAT percentage.

I’m a sole trader and not VAT registered. However, I get some invoices that list the Gross cost of each material item per line, with a sub total, and then just the VAT figure thereafter as a percentage of the sub total. I then pay the total which is the two figures combined, obviously.

What I am wondering is whether there is something that could be implemented that worked in reverse of the current discount feature. So, if I typed 20 in the percentage box, it would ADD 20% to each ITEM (not the task) on the list…updating the actual cost of the item to reflect the amalgamation of the initial cost plus VAT.

Therefore, no VAT would be separately listed on the estimate/quote (or subsequent invoice), but it would enable VAT to be covered when providing a quote for materials without being out of pocket. Its really no different to a markup that many firms apply when billing clients for sourcing materials.

Would this be possible?
Ta, Chris

No option to do this as far as I can see. But it’s not too difficult to manually add a mark up to your line items.

Your question does confuse me thought maybe make it clearer? If your not vat registered there’s no need to seperate vat from the net. You just add the gross figure.

That is true, but I already posted in a separate thread the usage of the calculator for being unable to apply line discounts on specific items, that I really didn’t want to then do the same when trying to merge the VAT into the initial cost also.

Sorry mate, let me try and be a little clearer: Invoices I get show the item cost. Sometimes I get a discount depending on the item(s) I’ve ordered, which appears as a percentage. Then it lists the price of that line…for example: