Bank Account Totals Incorrect

Hello,
I have been using QuickFile since 2013 and over the years the amount of money that QuickFile shows I have in my bank doesn’t add up to what I actually have in my bank account.

I have heard about Reconciling, but ave no idea how to do it and we are talking loads of money different. I mean several thousands of pounds over the years. It is so much that I have to do something about it now but simply have no idea where or how to start and am daunted by the prospect.

Please your support is appreciated. And if one of the support team could look at my account and see if I have some automatic feature that needs resetting that would be helpful now or in early January.

Wishing you all a very happy and blessed Christmas.

Fanflame

1 Like

Basically all that the reconcile tool does is help you check your opening and closing balances for a particular month/whatever period in an account in QuickFile against the same values from your bank statement. Step one of any reconciliation is to go back through your bank statements and find the earliest point where the balance in QuickFile started to disagree with that on your statements - you can do this very quickly with a kind of “binary search”, if you know it was correct on date X and wrong on date Y then look at the date half way between the two and repeat until you find the first discrepancy. Once you’ve found that, fix it by adding it removing transactions, then repeat the whole process (as the fix will have adjusted all later balances too). There’s not really any more of a shortcut than that…

First, did you actually start your Quickfile account with the correct balance?