Bank transactions and Tagging mess. Can I fix it?

Hi
I have been using QuicFile for around 6 years as a sole trader. I was using QF for invoicing only with the bank feed set up (That could have been a mistake) Now I have decided that I will use QF properly this financial year. I realize that I don’t know all the features and how everything is linked. It’s a mess.
The only problem is bank transactions and tagging. I have never paid attention to that and now I have nearly 600 untagged bank feeds (mostly personal) and I have deleted as many as that. So the numbers are all over the place. If I delete a bank transaction, the profit and loss report is not correct. This stupid suspend account showing up. I was thinking to leave QF and start fresh with different accounting software, but I do like QF
Is there a solution for untagged (unwanted) bank transactions that will not adversely affect the business reporting? There should be a way to deal with that.
I believe other accounting programs have an option to Separate personal and business transactions

Thank you

1 Like

The suspense account is made up of the “other side” of all the untagged bank transactions - once everything is either tagged or deleted then the suspense balance will disappear.

If you have one bank account that mixes business and personal transactions then the options are either to delete the personal ones entirely, or to tag them as transfers to or from drawings. The drawings option is better if you have a feed, if you delete things then they’ll come back for the next few days when the feed re-runs.

Thank you for your reply. So if I delete a bank transaction that amount won’t be included in the reports or in one of the nominal accounts. Is that right?