Buying a Van for my Business

I’m about to buy a van for the business. In the past I used the family car and used the 0.45 per mile to calculate my expenses. If I buy the van through the business, what do I need to do for accounting purposes? I assume that I do the opposite in the sense that I would deduct personal mileage. Also, I will have to pay for it through cash from 2 different bank accounts. If I can purchase this as for the business, how do I then account for this purchase from the non-business account?

Also, do I then put all van related expenses, such as insurance, breakdown cover, repairs etc. through the business account?

I am looking to buy this today so if someone can help me out urgently before I buy it that would be great in case there’s some major issue I need to be aware of. Thanks.

I am a Sole Trader.

Hi @jeremygadd

I’m not an accountant, but I’ll try my best to advise.

From my understanding, you can only apply one type of accounting for vehicles - you either claim the going rate for mileage (currently £0.45 per mile), or you can put the expenses through the business (insurance, maintenance, road tax etc.). I’d guess that by buying the vehicle through the business, you would need to do the latter.

I think at the end of the day, your accountant would be the best one to advise you on this and could give the advise tailored to your situation (and would be correct). If you don’t have an accountant, you can contact one through QuickFile using this button on your dashboard:

I’ve also found these links from a quick search which may be of use to you:

@QFMathew - thanks for your prompt reply. The links are very helpful.

I suppose I should have a tag line for all posts:

Sole Trader. No, I do not have an accountant. I am not VAT registered

:slightly_smiling: