Cannot sign-up to QuickFile or login when using "complex" passwords

Hi,

I am trying to sign-up to QuickFile for another one of my businesses and I use a password manager to handle my password management. This allows me to enforce unique and rather complex passwords across all services without remembering the passwords myself.

During the QuickFile sign-up process, I was asked for a password, my password generator suggested this:

4(5J)2wmYvxMdGS\9Ns3cj"uDiT<GT|\<4u}L"

This is a 40 character password that uses A-Z, a-z, 0-9, underscores, dashes and other symbols. Once I submitted the sign-up application process to get to the next stage, I encountered an HTTP 500 error.

To fix this issue as a customer/user, I was forced to reduce my password complexity to deal with the error. This is not ideal and gives a bad impression of QuickFile’s infrastructure.

Being a software engineer myself, I’m am now under the impression that QuickFile isn’t consuming passwords safely and therefore one or more of the escape like characters broke the back-end.

You can duplicate this error by also using this very same “complicated” password during the sign-in process, regardless if that is indeed your password. You’ll trigger a HTTP 500 error:

Hello @zeeshan

Firstly, I’d like to assure you that passwords are handled and stored safely. However, I suspect that something in the string itself has triggered a security procedure and caused the issue in this instance.

I have asked an engineer to look at this.

1 Like

Your password is triggering an OWASP rule. This is a built in defence against XXS attacks, by default the framework we use (.NET) looks for form vars containing tags and will throw a 500 error with anything suspicious. Removing or substituting the chevrons will ensure that the validation is passed.