Credit note for different amount

Hello there,

I’m new to VAT, credit notes, etc. I have a question:

I have a client and I need to return him some money but the amount is different then any of the amount on the invoice and I can’t do the right amount for credit note. Can you please advise how to return different amount.

Create the credit note from the “more options” menu on the original invoice, and then you can set whatever value you want (up to the original invoice value). When you save the credit note it’ll ask you whether to hold the funds on account or refund them - if you select “refund” it’ll create a pre-tagged transaction on your bank account for the appropriate amount and you can delete the untagged duplicate from your bank feed (if you have one).

yes, but I cannot put the amount I want because is completely different than the amounts already into the invoice

As long as the amount you want to return isn’t more than the total of any single invoice, then the method I’ve described will work - you can edit the amounts when you create a credit from an invoice, up to a maximum of the original invoice value.

If you want to refund more than the value of the largest invoice then you will need to raise several credit notes against different invoices to add up to the right total. Again this will create pre-tagged bank transactions for each one but as long as the total matches the amount you actually refund then that’s fine from an accounting point of view.

Or you might be able to do an ad-hoc credit note by simply creating an invoice with a negative value (I know I can do this with purchases but I’ve never had reason to try with sales). These don’t let you hold funds on account but as you’re refunding directly anyway that wouldn’t be a problem.

ok, the amount of the invoice is £2432.18

I need to pay back the client £1657.49
but I cannot do it… I go to credit note- then all amounts are with - (minus)- when selecting them- is not coming the right amount