I’m sure you used to be able to create a credit note and not pay it back straight away. There was an option to hold on account. I’ve even found the option in the knowledgebase:
The main client and a sub-contractor both paid same invoice and they would like to keep as credit to use in future.
Am I missing something or has the option to hold been removed?