Critical for us - Basic functionality for webhook, gocardless, direct debit

We really need a basic webhook to tell us when a customer has new direct debit setup with gocardless.

You guys have been pushing gocardless really hard, especially lately. It is so strange to not have this in the webhook API.

It is a matter of life and death for our business for this to be added, otherwise we’ll be forced to switch accountant software, which I really don’t want to do.

Quoting mathew:

In addition, we don’t want to poll every single customer - we have 100’s, every day - requesting all fields. I think that would not be good for your servers bandwidth either.

GoCardless have a webhook system of their own so if you can’t get this information from QuickFile webhooks you could maybe try those. I’m not sure whether there’s enough info in the GC webhook to link you to the right QF client but could be worth a try.

I’m not very technical but wouldn’t this be more of a gocardless thing rather than quickfile? Its gocardless who does the mandates and things rather than quickfile itself

We only need webhook from quickfile to get notification from gocarldess to know when a direct debit is activated (created by customer).

Quickfile manage gocardless implementation and communication, and because each customer can use a different email address when signing up to gocardless mandate, we can’t cross reference the email ID to each customer. So we have to go by quickfile.

Quickfile offer ability to ‘poll’ this data, but polling is much different to webhook, and it is a big server load to just get 1 bit of data of “gocardless mandate active”

In addition, a webhook is near real time, each second, whereas polling a client is not good to do more than once an hour.
We really need to know instantly when customer has signed up so there’s no delay.