Dealing with Bank fees

Hi I am new to all of this still and I have a payment that I have received from a customer. However we have been charged fees of 7 pounds.

When I try to deal with the payment from the uploaded statement I allocates the payment to the outstanding invoice. And shows the seven pounds as still outstanding.

How do we deal with the balance I was going to allocate via journals or was going to process a payment instead from our bank account to some other

What is the right thing to do

Hi @Asmaa

Is the Ā£7 a transaction fee, similar to what PayPal charges for example?

If this is the case, take a look at this article. This should help:
http://community.quickfile.co.uk/t/handling-payments-from-merchant-accounts/8865

Yes I guess, the Natwest charges these fees when we get money from abroad

@Asmaa - Are the fees deducted before the money hits your bank account, or are you charged, for example, at the end of the month for the transaction?

If the money in full hits your bank account (i.e. ā‚¬50 is deposited to your account as ā‚¬50 with no fees deducted), Iā€™d assume your bank issues you with a statement at the end of the month with a summary of these charges? If thatā€™s the case, you can just tag the full amount to the invoice and account for the fee when you receive the statement.

Ok what happens is that I get Ā£3000 but Ā£10 is deducted as fees Ā£10 so I get 2990. We get a notification breakdown of the payment and fee. When I then upload my statement and tag the invoice to the money it clears but then I have ae partial payment I need to clear

Hi @Asmaa

In that case, as per the guide I linked to above, you would have 3 transactions:

Money In
Ā£3000.00 - Tagged to the invoice to be shown as paid in full

Money Out
Ā£10.00 - Tagged to ā€˜Bank feesā€™ (either through purchase invoice or direct to the bank fees nominal code)

That should bring your account back in line with your statement, and the invoice fully paid.