Donating Time and Hosting to a charity

I’m wondering if anyone has any insight/experience on the below.

I’m planning to support a local charity football team by creating and maintaining a sports website for them.

As a UK Limited company am I able to account for this as a charity donation for the time I spend(an hourly rate) on this project and the ongoing monthly hosting costs?

Thanks

That really should be a question for your accountant.

Thanks Paul but I’m not sure there is an issue with me posting to the community for general insights/experiences.

Because any advice you act on from the community in terms of how you treat an expense will result in tax adjustment. And ordinary people on a forum do not have insurance to cover any bad advice they give.

As an accountant I require indemnity insurance incase a client has a further tax charge or penalty as a result of bad tax advice. If you were to receive bad advice also, who could you claim against for any penalties, interest or underpaid tax that you may suffer as a result?

Further this forum is for the operating of the software and not for accounting advice. They can of course explain how to post the transactions but only once its established the correct treatment of them.

Hi Steve,

There is guidance on the government website about time spent working for a charity at this link.

And at this link they say:

If your company temporarily transfers an employee (secondment) or an employee volunteers for a charity in work time, you can deduct any costs as normal business expenses.

Continue to pay the employee (which can be yourself) and run PAYE on the salary as usual. You can deduct the costs (including wages and business expenses) from your taxable profits as if they are working for you as normal.

Record the hours spend in secondment or volunteering as you would normally within your timesheets to enable you to pay them as normal. Ensure the time is allocated to the Charity rather than your clients.