Drawings for Partnership

Hi I am a little new to Accounting so please bear with me.

I am in business with another person and we are set up as a Partnership. We take the same amount each week from the bank account as a wage. I presume to do this I tag from the bank account to 1203 and 1204 nominal codes. is this correct? From my reading I then need to use the Journals to remove this from here to 3100 is this correct?

That sounds the same as the way I do it for my own partnership - bank transfers to the respective partners’ drawings bank accounts as they take money during the year, then at the end of the year move the year’s drawings into a nominal in the 3000 range (either with a journal or just with a bank transaction tagged to “something not on the list”).

However, I have set up separate per-partner nominal codes in the 3000 range for each individual partner’s capital introduced, drawings taken, and share of the net profit. So rather than just moving all drawings to 3100 and all retained profit to 3101, I put partner A’s drawings in 3102, partner B’s drawings in 3103, partner A’s profit share in 3104 and partner B’s share in 3105.

Ok so what are the 1203 and 1204 used for? Should I just transfer to 3100 on a weekly basis?

1203 and 1204 are your partner drawings accounts (bank accounts). They’re used to basically keep track of money leaving and entering the business to/from a partner. They’re useful to track the balance throughout the year.

The journal at year end would just tie that up and zero the balance.

@ian_roberts’ method of tagging directly to the nominals in the 3000 range by-passes the need to use the bank accounts and the need for a journal.

So would I be better setting up 2 x 3000 codes for Drawings partner A and Drawings Partner B and just tag from th bank each week to these?