Expenses for petrol and meals

Hi, looking for some guidance please, I could not find a definitive answer or information on the forums so hopefully someone can help. I am a freelance contractor with a limited company. I was recently employed by a company on a full-time basis (office based). Recently, I went on a business trip for them and they provided and paid for a hire car and hotel. I incurred some expenses in the form of meals and petrol for the hire car. I do not have a company credit card so used my personal credit card for these purchases. I’ve been advised by the company I work for to submit an expense claim via my limited company. 1) How do I add these expenses correctly in my Quickfile account? 2) How do I then send the expense claim to the company I work for? 3) How do I send a copy/image of my receipts along with my expense claim? I’m also assuming when they make payment, this will then reflect in my Quickfile account and balance out? Thank you

Hello @Billy_S

The following may help

https://support.quickfile.co.uk/t/rebilling-expenses/12313

Thank you Steve, will have a look at that. Another quick question regarding VAT. I have registered for VAT but it may take up to 40 days to be registered. How will that work with my petrol receipts having VAT on them and claiming that back?

My VAT registration came through so problem solved!!!
When I create the purchase, do I leave it as “Unpaid” until I get paid from the Company or do I Tick it as “Paid” and select “Directors Loan Account”?

Thanks

Hello @Billy_S

Tick it as “Paid” and select “Directors Loan Account”?

When you get the money back from them, record it in the bank and tag it as a transfer to “Directors Loan Account”

Perfect, thanks Steve

Don’t think of it as “until I get paid from the company” - your company has already incurred and paid for the purchase, you should mark it as paid from the director’s loan account on the date when you paid for it.