Financial management capabilities of QuickfIle

Hi,

I’m a self-employed legal consultant and I’m looking to switch accounting software from Lawsoft to Quickfile as it seems a bit ‘neater’. Essentially I’m trying to find out if Quickfile has the same basic financial management capabilities of Lawsoft.

I’m looking for software that allows me to record billable units of time (1 unit = 6 mins) with a client as individual items/sessions and then appended it to a “Matter” (i.e. matter ID/the whole job). I then need to be able to generate the following documents from the Matter:

-Fee Narrative (a simple itemised breakdown for clients to explain what was billed when and why. eg. “Chargeable Non Specific: Phone call to explain Completion Schedule / 5 units / 28/07/2020”)

-Billing Guide (a compilation for individual billing entries. Similar to the Fee Narrative but more detailed for my accounts)

-Invoice (single item invoice that advises the client to refer to attached Fee Narrative)

In Lawsoft I achieve this by going to “Time Sheet Entry” where I can add a new entry which gets assigned to either a pre existing Matter ID or I create new one. The entry when completed looks like this:

Activity Date: 28/07/2020
Matter ID: 12345-678
Activity: Chargeable - Non Specific
Rate: Standard Rate
Start Time: 16:00
Units: 5
Narrative: Phone call to explain Completion Schedule
Comments: N/A

Once this has been saved then it is appended to all the generated documents mentioned above.

So can this (or something similar) be achieved with Quickfile / Quickfile Projects?

Thanks

Hi @jasonn

QuickFile is a generic accounting package rather than tailored to a specific industry, so it may be the case that things don’t fit “neatly” into an area you need. But, there’s an opportunity for quite a bit of customisation.

Billable time is possible on the invoice, and you can change the unit of that time. So changing the name of “Hours” to “Units” would certainly be possible.