Fixed Asset Balances

Hi @QFMathew I am new to QuickFile and have entered the trial balance figures supplied by my previous bookkeeper which balances but I do not see the fixed assets (tangible and intangible figures). I am wondering how I can manually enter these cost figures in terms of the corresponding journal entry. For example, I can enter debits for the original cost amount in a journal for Plant & Machinery, Motor Vehicle, Intangible Assets but what would be the corresponding credit entry? These items are in the previous balance sheets and are not new items.

By definition your previous balance sheet should balance, the matching credit side is probably some combination of capital introduced, share capital, retained profit from previous years, etc.

Where are you getting Fixed Assets values from if not from the trial balance? Or do you mean you can’t see where in Quickfile to code them?

Hi @ian_roberts, The balance sheet is at 31/12/2019 and the trial balance, from the previous bookkeeper, is 31/08/2020 which balances and I have entered (the trial balance) in Quickfile. Unless I am missing something then there will be difference between the figures on the two as e.g. bank, creditors will reflect different values with time. However, the fixed assets (cost) will not change being the original cost with value adjusting via depreciation which would be the same figure at 31/12/2019 and 31/08/2020, until the year end of 31/12/2020. However, fixed assets are not in the trial balance which is confusing things. I guess if the accounting equation is Assets = Liabilities + Equity then the only things I can match fixed assets to would be Equity (which must be out too).

Hi @cbstephensaca, they are not on the trial balance but if I and can see the codes for them, which would be a debit, but then what would I credit? Equity?