Flat Rate Vat Box 6 confusion

Hi, I’m new to QF and trying to submit my first VAT return on the flat rate scheme (I’ve done it before manually). I know this question has been asked before, but I’m struggling to understand the answer.

As far as I understand, I need to pay the flat rate of 16.5% Vat on all my sales INCLUDING (standard 20%) Vat - as entered on my invoiced. BUT in the Vat Return generated automatically for me by QF, it only shows my turnover EXCLUDING (standard 20%) Vat - despite box 6 saying it should include Vat.

Is this an error? Will it be adjusted when the return is submitted to HMRC? Or do I need to adjust it manually, and if so, how?

Thanks very much for any help!

Have you switched on the flat rate mode in your QuickFile VAT settings? Box 6 is ex VAT on normal accounting, it’s only inc VAT on the flat rate scheme.

The other possibility is that it is calculating correctly but not including all the invoices you think it should, for example if you’re on cash accounting then it only counts invoices that were paid during the quarter, not ones that have been raised during the quarter but not yet paid. The download calculations or “export” button (there are two versions of the VAT return form) should give you a CSV detailing exactly what QuickFile thinks is included and how it calculated the box values.

Thanks Ian, you’re exactly right! I just checked the CSV of the calculations and it’s only showing about half the invoices. I did them all together retrospectively today, all within the dates for the VAT Return period, so I’m not sure why some of them would’ve registered while others haven’t. Any ideas about how to fix? Thanks again for your help.

And yes, they’re all marked as paid. Cheers

Which ones are missing? The earlier or later dated ones? Do you have a VAT start date set in your settings (it won’t include anything from before this date)?