Foreign AirBnB property

I am a consultant operating as a Sole trader and I have an apartment in Portugal that I occasionally rent out on AirBnB. I have a Portuguese bank account and all expenses of running the apartment and any income go to the Portuguese Bank. I have imported everything, but there are accounting questions…!

VAT:- I am not registered for VAT in Portugal, only in the UK. Presumably I tag everything as zero VAT?, or is there a better way.

Should I tag all expenses and income to Portugal Apartment Project? Or 2 projects… PT expenses, PT income?

What else should I ask? Accounting does not get me out of bed in the morning !

Hi @Rory ,
Not a straightforward one this…
If you are registered for flat rate vat, then all income, including property rent, is subject to vat. Hopefully, this is not you. Property income is not normally subject to VAT.
It sounds like it’s not Furnished Holiday Let income but should be declared as property income on your Tax Return. It’s not part of your self employed income so it needs coding separately in Quickfile away from the Profit and loss and preferably via capital introduced or a separate code in the software.
You are best speaking with your accountant to get clarification.

Thank you, Bagpipe…
It is more a question of how to tag the bank entries so that it ends up in the right place for my accountant and does not screw up my VAT.
Maybe I should run it as a separate entity?

Eventually under Making Tax Digital for Income Tax, starting in 2024 this income will need to be declared separately to HMRC i.e. An additional report as well as self assessment. For now, I would suggest creating a new nominal code of say 3105 and calling it foreign property. You can then tag all ins and outs to this one code for your accountant to look over. He can pull together the data for your Tax Return by analysing this one code.

Thanks again. I’ve yet to learn where to play with nominal codes.