GBP Invoice paid in different currency

Hi, I have encountered the following problem:

an invoice in GBP has been paid in EUR to an account in EUR - what would be the proper way to book such transaction? There is no way to tag the payment to the invoice as there is currency mismatch.

Next step: the amount received in EUR has been converted to GBP (transfer between accounts in the same bank) few days later and the amount received in GBP is actually higher/lower than the invoice value so how to account for foreign exchange profit/loss in such case?

I have searched the forum but have not found anything which would apply directly to this scenario. As this will be regular occurrence in my case I would like to find an elegant way of booking such transactions.

Would appreciate step by step instruction as I am pretty new to Quickfile :slight_smile:

As you’ve discovered you can’t log cross currency payments by tagging from a bank feed. You need to

• “log payment” from the GBP invoice and select the EUR account, which should let you enter the exact GBP and EUR totals
  • delete the untagged duplicate transaction in the EUR account

For the transfer it’s the same as usual, you tag the transaction on one end as a transfer to/from the other, set the amount there in the other currency, and delete the untagged duplicate on the other side. The gain/loss from the currency exchange should wash out next time you record a currency movement journal on the EUR bank account.

There is no way to log payment in different currency than invoice currency. Accounts in currencies other than invoice currency (i.e. sterling) don’t show up on the list. Or am I doing something wrong? The thing is that GBP invoice was paid in different currency than GBP and the payment was sent to the account in this particular currency. So it is not the case of foreign currency payment sent to GBP account.