Handling strip and starling feeds when Stripe Payment has multiple transactions with di

HI, I am new to the system and trying to set things up so that minimal manula intervention is required. Almost all of our receipts will be online payments collected via Stripe, and of course will will have many supplier payments. We use Starling bank, so first thought is to set up the bank feed and progressively tag items so that over time everything coming through the vank is automatically posted. So far so good, but Our sales are processed by Stripe and there will be a periodic payment to us by Stripe, and I understand that I can tag it and have it deposited automatically into a merchant account, and I could then manipulate this to add on thier transaction charge etc. But where I get stuck is that we are selling on a world wide basis, and as such a single Stripe payment will contain transactions from different countries with different VAT rates … so I need to record some of the transactiona at UK vat rate to report via MTD, and some as zero rate to avoid MTD (I plan to run a seperate job with the Stripe API to generate the ISS return!). So the question is how do I go about allocating different vat rates to the component transactions, and can that be done automatically vi tagging, or would it be better to create a CSV file out of stripe that has individual transactions that can be applied, and tagged individually … but if I do this how do I avoid duplicating the STRIPE payment coming through in the bank feed … do I just direct it to a merchant account then ignore it? … or will ignoring it result in odd results in my accounts?

Hello @hoodji

It would depend on where the sale originates

Stripe can handle invoice creation, but you may create the invoice prior to that (e.g. in an online sales environment like Shopify)

“Our sales are processed by Stripe”