How to make values on 'purchases' appear in my VAT Return?

Hi,
I am new to QuickFile. First impressions are generally strong but I am struggling a little I must admit… It seems a bit, clunky.
Anyway, I am trying to add in a Purchase so that I can claim back VAT as I have done in the past with FreeAgent, but anything I put in doesn’t get seen as a ‘Vat Item’ in the VAT Return… How does it all get calculated?? Am I doing something wrong?
Is there a guide on this at all?

Any info would be great.
Thank you!

If you added the correct vat code on the purchase, vat will be calculated and reclaimable.

Go to reports, chart of accounts and look at 2201, purchase tax, you will see the vat reclaimed on each purchase.

Or run a vat return to check.

Hi @AudioSpire

I’m sorry to hear that you feel it’s a bit clunky. But any suggestions are welcome.

With the VAT return, what VAT scheme are you using - cash or accrual? Are you on the flat rate scheme?

Thanks for the reply Eddie.
I see the purchase on there, and I see a value (it shows at the bottom as well as in the column you said) but when I ‘prepare’ my VAT return it shows £0.00… and when I click the magnifying glass it says ‘No VAT Items’ in the list…

Thanks for the reply Mathew,

I am accrual I believe as I am VAT registered.
I used to have an accountant that did this for me but I make WAY less in this business than the accountant cost so I had to stop doing it… I am trying this service but I am struggling a lot. It doesn’t seem like there are any guides on how to do basic things, something that I feel is missing for this service. I am a newbie, of course… Maybe I just dont understand it.
All I want to do is input my receipts and have it make a VAT return but nothing works.

Things you may need to check.

Vat settings - start date of your vat return.
Invoice date is either after the start date or before the vat return period end.