How to pay and log multiple sole trader expenses with one payment

Hello,
I am a sole trader and relatively new to QuickFile.

I was about to pay my expenses for April and I got stuck.

Before QuickFile, I used to log individual expenses by date in a spreadsheet, and then later pay the sum of month’s expenses with one payment.

However, in QuickFile, I seem to have to record a payment for each expense and how it was made which seems like a very long way of paying the month’s expenses.

I have 19 individual expense purchases for April.

How do I pay and record all 19 in one step?

Thank you in advance,
Bharat

Usually you would record each purchase separately. If they’re things you have paid for from personal money and you’re then taking one payment out of your business account to reimburse yourself then you’d tag the various purchases as paid from the proprietor drawings account and the reimbursement as a transfer from current account to proprietor drawings.

Alternatively for lots of small purchases like this you could make one purchase invoice to a dummy supplier “out of pocket expenses” with lots of lines - one for each expense posted to the appropriate code - then tag the reimbursement as payment for this purchase. The disadvantage of doing it this way is that you don’t get the nice receipt hub process for attaching the original receipts, but as long as (a) every expense is tagged to the correct category and accounted for in the correct period and (b) if asked by the tax man you can easily find the original receipt for any given expense, then you can record things however is easiest for you.

Hello Ian,

Your first paragraph is more appropriate, however, I would like some help with the how to.

When I go to Sales > Purchases, all the purchases are listed.

I then sort by Receipt Date to show all the first purchases.

I can then tick all the expenses that I want to pay, and then click on ‘Update as Paid’

Then the pop-up appears as below.

Capture