Including mileage in the P+L

Hi. New to Quickfile, just setting up. I need to record mileage for a mobile hairdresser. Obviously I was hoping to set up mileage as a default somewhere (with the Gov mileage allowance value already applied). So I could just click mileage, enter number of miles and would automatically be included as a £ value for the P+L. Is that possible? Should I set up the mileage as a “purchase” or is there a simpler system?

Thanks

Create a new nominal in chart of accounts. Then create a journal with the milage amount and the balancing side being propriters drawings

Thanks…but I dont have the faintest idea what that means or how to do it. Appreciate your answer but I am completely new to the software and bookkeeping. Can you rephrase?

Hi @john_langfield

You can create a new nominal by following this guide: Adding a new nominal account

You can then create a journal for the amount needed - journals need to balance so you would have one side going to the new mileage nominal and the balancing side to your proprietors drawings (bank account)

There is a guide on journals here: Journals

Hi Beth