Income Tax & Class 4 NICs

As a sole Trader I submitted my return for last year and paid the amount owing for tax and Class 4 NIC. How do I account for this in Quick File?

that will be drawings

I am a sole trader. Can I please check my understanding on thresholds and amounts for paying basic rate income tax and Class 4 NI contributions:

1. I am aware that my personal allowance is ÂŁ10,000. So if, at the end of the tax year, my QF adjusted taxable profit is ÂŁ12,500.00, then I will have to pay income tax on the ÂŁ2500 @ 20% (i.e. ÂŁ500) - is that correct?

2. Regarding Class 4s: For the 2014/15 tax year, the lower limit is ÂŁ7956. In my above example, does this mean that I would have to pay 9% of ÂŁ4544 (ÂŁ12500 - ÂŁ7956), which equals ÂŁ408.96?

1 Like

Hi Matthew - as the end of the tax year looms a little closer, thought I would read any posts on income tax and class 4’s. I believe you are quite correct with your example above. Like you, I am a sole trader, so will close my tax year-end in the books on or after 5/4/15. I pay my Class 2 Nat Insurance on a monthly direct debit so I know full well that the double entry is to Cr bank and Dr drawings (3100) for this each month. By definition, the final Class 4 liability will be treated the same way, but what is the situation for income tax owed? Is that, as Faraday suggests, also to be treated as drawings? I suppose it must as I cannot see any nominal code in the chart of accounts that relates to taxation! What do you think?

Income tax would be the same - transfer to drawings. Self employed tax and NI is a payment from you as an individual to HMRC, not a business expense. Any payments of personal expenses from the business account count as drawings - you’re conceptually transferring money from the business to yourself (and then using that money to pay your liability to HMRC, but that’s irrelevant to QuickFile).