Invoices due later

I am new to accounting for my own business. I have noticed if I create an invoice, dated 1st Feb 2020, but with a due date of Aug 2020, it is placing the income in tax year 2019-2020, when actually I will not receive the payment until tax year 2020-2021. How do I push all future sales which have been invoiced into the next financial year?

Hi @Bobbych

QuickFile works on accrual accounting, so the invoice date is what’s important.

Whichever financial period the invoice issue date falls into, this is where it will be counted.

thanks for clarifying that. that creates an issue as I issue invoices way in advance with a due date upto a year, and sometimes the sale gets cancelled. so I will have paid tax on the income and it may not actually arrive. I will have to revise my methods and issue invoices nearer the due date

Legally your issue is whether you operate on a cash basis or not. Quickfile is doing it correctly as this is the standard method. If you choose to file your self assessment using the cash basis then you would need to record your income as money received in your accounting period as opposed to accrual which is how quickfile works.

As a side note, don’t forget that if a sale gets cancelled then you would issue a credit note which would credit against future turnover and therefore you would reduce any future tax liability. In other words it gets refunded.

thanks, i have changed the way I invoice now based on this. I will now only invoice a customer 2 weeks before payment is due, so generally (apart from first week of April) most invoices will be issued in the correct tax year.

Yes, you could use the “estimates” mechanism in QuickFile to document the expected cost, and then only convert that to an invoice nearer to the payment due date.

how do you convert an estimate to an invoice, or is it simply create a new invoice at the time and delete the estimate

Hi @Bobbych