Making opening balance appear in bank account

Hello – new user here, trying very hard to get to grips with QuickFile.

I’ve read as many of the other posts as I can find on this topic but I’m still lost. I’m a sole trader with very simple needs, but for dull and largely historical reasons I am VAT-registered. For other dull reasons, I wish to stay that way. Thus, I need a solution for MTD.

When setting an opening balance for my one and only business bank account, the amount just does not appear in the bank account itself – and I do not understand this. I understand that the opening balance amount is posted to ‘Suspense Account’ but I don’t truly understand why this is. I’ve read other suggestions of journaling it as retained profit or whatever (which is what I guess it is, as it’s just money that happens to be sitting in my business account) but, even having done that, the figure doesn’t actually appear in the bank account.

So, in effect, my bank account is under by the opening balance. As an experiment, I did try manually creating a new transaction as ‘Money in’ with the reference ‘Opening balance’ and on the relevant work. Ostensibly that works fine (ie, the bank account now looks ‘correct’ to me) but I fear that if I don’t fully understand this now then I’m simply storing up trouble for later.

So, in brief, how does one get the ‘Opening Balance’, as set through the Modify Bank Account page, to actually appear in the bank account?!

Thank you for treating me gently, even if I do sound like an idiot.

I don’t think it shows on the bank statement page but it is taken into account. Does the balance of the account show it all ok?

No… that’s the problem. Let’s imagine that my opening balance is £1,000 (which it more or less is): that £1,000 just doesn’t show in the account, so as soon as I enter real transactions, it’s out by £1,000.

Hi,