Opening balance- bank balance or trial balance

I hope someone can help me as I am very new to the world of accounting, I have opened a brand new bank account and put in £5000 in preparation for when the bills start to come in, I have gone to the opening balance section in setting and entered £5000 in the first column and put it under current account (1200) as a credit, but then it asks me to put a another entry in underneath which is based on a minus figure, but I do not have any expenditure at all on this bank account / Business as I have not started trading from this bank account / business, so how do I set my opening balance just to show I have £5000 in credit, do I need to put this amount in the trail balance ?

Thank You

Vince

Hi @Vincent

We’ll certainly try our best to help! :slight_smile:

Where did the £5,000 come from? For example, was it from your own personal funds?

Also, are you a limited company or a sole trader?

Hello Mathew,

Yes it was from my personal funds and it is a Ltd company

Thank you

In that case the other entry would be directors loan account. And it isn’t a minus figure. Its credits and debits.

Hello Paul
Thank you for your reply, so to be clear, my £5000 funds would go under current account(1200) in the Credit row and the Directors Loan account for £5000 would go in the row showing a debit
Vince

Is this correct, do i have it the correct way around

The simplest approach is not to set an opening balance on the current account - instead just manually create a “money in” transaction for £5000 and tag it as a transfer from the director’s loan account. This leaves the DL showing “overdrawn” by £5000 indicating that the company owes you (the director) £5000.