Opening balance for this account error!

Hi there
I have been using QF for over 6 years now, but mostly for invoices & Automated Bank Feeds.
Now I am thinking on making better use of QF. I have tried to set " I have an opening balance for this account" but I get The opening balance could not be saved as there are transactions occurring before the opening balance date you supplied. I have tried to change the Account lock date. Also, I have tried to change the bank transactions dates. That didn’t work.
What would happen if I delete my bank account from QF and add the same account again? Would that let me set an opening balance for that account?

Thanks
Patrick

Hi,
I personally wouldn’t delete the bank account. Instead, you could just open a new account within quickfile. On a certain date, stop using the old account, transfer the feed to the new account, enter the opening balance for that date and you should be sorted.

To keep the old account is important just in case you are checked by HMRC. You could, however, hide the old account, if you like a clean bank account dashboard.

Hope this helps

1 Like

Thank you for your reply. To add a different bank account it’s a bit tricky. All my clients would have to pay me into the new account.
I just leave it as it is

Hi
Sorry, maybe I wasn’t very clear.
What I mean is you add the same bank account again as another bank account in quickfile. Basically you have the same bank account showing up twice in quickfile. The ‘new’ one where you start fresh with an opening balance and where you activate the feed.
And you have still the ‘old’ one but this one is just sitting there and you don’t enter new entries anymore.