Overriding VAT amount

Continuing the discussion from Allow VAT amount to be overridden on sales invoices:

Hi,

I have been using quickfile for 2 years now and Just finished our first year as a VAT registered business.

I have read through these but I can t find the option anywhere to “Allow VAT override on Sales Invoice”. This implementation was dated 2014 so I am wondering if it is still an option.

The trouble I am having is getting my Quickfile Sales Invoice to match with our till Z report.

We are a Cafe and process many small transactions in a day.
I have created 6 recurring Sales Invoice (assigned to a client called Daily Takings) One for each day of the week we are open and they repeat weekly.
I then input the Z readings from our till onto the sales invoice.
Z readings totals only give Gross total Including VAT and i have broken this down under 4 nominal Accounts
(Refunds), Food, Drink & Non Vatable Sales.
The Z report also gives a separate total Tax Breakdown.

The Problem I am having is that the till charges Vat on each individual Item roughly 350 - 500 individual transactions per day. So no matter how i input this into my Quickfile Sales invoice (Gross totals or NET totals) I cannot get the VAT to match. It is always between £1-£2 out

Inputing 350 individual items is not really an option either.

Customers are issued a Till receipt with the VAT when they make a purchase so i assume that I need to be matching my Quickfile sales invoices to my Till.

The only solution I can see is to be able to input the Gross Amount & then manually adjust the VAT. Quickfile could then subtract the two to record the NET amount and presto my Accounts would match my Till

I have spent hours looking for a solution on the forum but I have not found a solution yet. I know there are many more experienced people using the forum that could offer a solution.

Regards,
Gary

Hi @gary_c_coughlan