Purchases made from personal funds and then later reimbursed by the company

Hello,

I am quite new to accounting for small LTD and I got few questions at the beginning:

1. How can I add all purchases and finances before I have first earnings and even bank account? This covers payment for establishing a company (paid by private card) or some small cash spent on first purchases.

2. What exactly is „petty cash” – is it some kind of separate wallet only with cash for small spendings? And I can pay for this for coffes/magazines, right?

3. What about Initial Capital, I have found it here: http://help.quickfile.co.uk/main/default.aspx?pageid=limited_company_bookkeeping_-_the_basics but I am not sure about the idea of The Directors’ Loan Account – do you have more resources?

4. Can be Initial Capital paid in cash (to petty cash?)

thank you!
SKO

Any purchases that you have made from personal expenses on behalf of a limited company need to be paid from the Directors’ Loan Account. This is a simple account to show money owed to the directors from the company or vice versa.

It’s like a virtual bank account to track cash in the company. If you withdrew £100 from your Limited company account and put it in a safe for odds and ends this would be reflected in your accounting system as a transfer from the company account to petty cash.

There’s a brief description of the DLA here:

The Directors’ Loan Account

Yes it can be, to enter this on Quick File treat this as a transfer from DLA to petty cash. One day hopefully you can repay it back the other way, so in that case it’s just an opposite transfer.

Hope that helps!

1 Like

OK, so at the beginning I have bought software and I have paid with my private card. Should I report it this way? (I simply put there just “software” instead of real name)

Is the payment method in this case important?