Splitting my account into two (or three)

Hello, I’ve been using quickfile for a few years. I used to be a “sole trader” and recently set up a limited company. In addition my account is complicated by the fact that I have a property letting sideline mixed in. I would like to separate things out into two (or more) quickfile accounts. Is this possible? Is it possible to export a whole bank account from one account to another? Any advice on my best way forward?

Hello @glynblackett

Accounts can not be split. when your business changes from sole trader to Limited company a separate account is required as it is a different legal entity.

You would need to create separate accounts for the limited company and the property (if it is not owned by the business).

You would start each account with an opening balance as of a set date.

Thanks - and will I be paying the £45 for each account I have?

Hello @glynblackett

QuickFile is free up to the first 1000 nominal postings in a rolling 12 month period then £60 + vat per year after that.

More information on pricing can be found in the link below.

QuickFile Pricing.

Would you be processing 1000 nominal postings in a rolling 12 month period for a property? It may be unlikely unless there is more than 1 property.

I would recommend running the free option to see if you go above the threshold in your first 12 months, if you hit the threshold a payment prompt would be shown.

Hello @glynblackett

Depending on the number of postings on each company, another option to cosider.

We have a dedicated platform for Accountants and Bookkeepers called Affinity. This is a single dashboard where you can group together all your client profiles, track key filing dates and setup your own branding and logo on their accounts.

We have a more general guide on Affinity here:

https://support.quickfile.co.uk/t/quickfile-affinity-overview/8828

We also have an Affinity pricing calculator here:

https://www.quickfile.co.uk/home/affinitypricing