Tagging Expenses without invoice

I’m new to Quickfile and I work through a vat registered ltd company and have very few expenses. I certainly never EVER have to invoice a supplier, but this seems the only way to categorise my expenses to enable me to claim the VAT back.

I have always just categorised my spend from the bank account. The first few I just put through as an expense and they are not categorised at all, so I need to work out how to untag them and start again. For the rest, I’ve just created a dummy supplier called Expenses and I stick everything to that, but it seems a bit excessive.

Is there an easier or clearer way to do this?

So your saying you’ve never ever received a receipt, or purchase invoice from anyone you have paid for goods or services from?

The purchase invoice section means you record details of the receipt you have received for paying for said goods or services.

You can tag a bank transaction and create an invoice at the time to record the payment against or you can create your invoice first and tag the transaction to it.

What you can’t do is just create a dummy supplier and tag everything to that, that’s not how vat accounting should be done and it certainly wouldn’t allow you to produce any meaningful accounts to submit your tax returns.

Reciepts, sometimes. But I never ever have the need to create an invoice. My expenses are things like train tickets, hotel rooms, laptop, mobile phone, stationery. That’s it. Everything is always paid for there and then on my debit card.

I have been submitting VAT returns this way for 9 years and it’s always been absolutely fine.

I think the word invoice is throwing you off.

When you buy a laptop you get a receipt, when you pay for a hotel you get a receipt or invoice.

Payments can take around 2 days to clear so you’d have an invoice dated one day and a payment registered a few days later. That’s why you should record the receipt and then tag a payment to it.