Understanding VAT on Mileage Expenses

Hello guys,

I have read loads of topics on the forum and on the HMRC website on VAT and Mileage expenses. It appears a complex minefield which totally mystifies me.

I am a sole trader presently. I do not earn enough to pay VAT but has started a new online printing business which require me to declare VAT. So I am now VAT Registered.

Over the last 5 years (preVAT#) when I recorded my ‘Business Mileage’ expenditure I entered them as a new Purchase to the supplier ‘Expenses: Approved Mileage’ (category: Travelling) paid from ‘Proprietor Drawing’ by Bank Transfer.

Now that I am VAT Registered do I need to add to the purchase expense VAT @ 20% or not?!

A simple ‘yes or no’ would be a good answer.

Over the last 2 VAT quarters (which I have already reported since registration) I have been putting ‘No VAT’

Thank you for your help in understanding this.

Fanflame

These two links should help, a simple yes or no is not that simple unfortunately

and
https://blog.tripcatcherapp.com/tax/vat-on-mileage-expenses-how-to-claim/

Hello and thank you writing.

I had looked at that HMRC topic last night and couldn’t understand it. I simply need to know whether I need to choose to add the VAT at 20% when adding these mileage expenses. Whether I claim it back or not. At the moment I am putting “noVAT”

It is my own private car which I am using for my business mileage and I reclaim 45p per mile.

Thanks

Fanflame

Please read that second link, it has working examples

Hello again,

Sorry I missed that second link. Even looking at it quickly I can see that I need to add the VAT to the expense and then claim back the fuel portion. For me - a non numbers person it will be a bit of a task, but I can clearly see that I need to add the VAT on future mileage claims.