Use of Projects to create and report budgets?

Hi, I’m new to QF and just trying to set ourselves up. We are a Scout Group made up of 3 ‘sections’ (Beavers, Cubs & Scouts).

At the beginning of each financial year, we allocate spending budgets to each section, then track their usage of this budget per section for the events they run.

An event will generally have income (parents pay for their child to go) and costs (generally in the form of expenses incurred by the leaders). We wish to track the P&L of events, but also at the Section level (e.g. they may run 10 events a year as part of their allocated budget).

I think we can use Project tagging in the expenses by creating a tag for each event. However, I don’t know if I can tag the income (individual bank line items or DD entries) to the individual event (project)?

At the Budgeting level (multiple events per section), I wondered if I could track income and spend against this original budget view. I wondered if the use of an Estimate for each Section would work, then tagging this estimate to a Section. Is that possible?

If there is another way of achieving this hierarchy of section budgets and events then tracking expected and actual P&L against each, please let me know.

Hi @DavidYoung

Welcome to QuickFile!

With income, you should ideally create a sales invoice for it to make it a bit easier to track (e.g. this allocates it to a client/source, a date, multiple nominal codes if needed and describes what it was). You could either create individual invoices per booking and issue one to each parent, or you could bulk enter them as daily or weekly takings.

Providing each invoice is for one event or section, you can use project tags on the invoices, whereas you can’t on a bank entry. So doing it this way would allow you to track the income/expenditure.