Client name and account reference in email?

I need to be able to advise clients of the reference to quote when making online payments, which is a basically their account reference and name, but unless I’m missing something I don’t see these as custom tokens which can be added to the email message, or any other field which could be used to store a reference.

(I’m not sending invoices or links to invoices from QuickFile for various reasons, not least that the recipients aren’t very computer literate, so the email itself is their bill.)

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Hi @JohnJ

Unfortunately this tag isn’t available at the moment. I will however discuss this with our team in the new year and see if this could be added.

I’ll let you know if we’re able to change anything here.

Thanks. In the meantime can you suggest any another way to get the payment reference into the email? What do other users do?

As a software developer myself I’m a little surprised you don’t simply make all fields available as custom tokens as you can never predict the crazy ways those pesky users are going to try to use your software. :smile:

I wonder whether there’s any update on this please, or any other way to include individual payment instructions on an invoice? I’m sending out around forty renewal invoices and would obviously prefer not to have to send them manually, editing the payment instructions on each one.

Thanks.

Hi @JohnJ

Any fields that are available for emails will be shown beneath the template itself, for example:

There’s been no change here with the client name or account reference, but we’ll be sure to let you know should this change.

Hi @JohnJ

Just to let you know that we’ve introduced 2 new tokens you can use on your new invoice / estimate emails.

@ClientAccountReference@
@ClientName@ 

It’s not quite live yet but it should be by the end of the week.

2 Likes

How would you be able to create an automated client reference number in the add new client