Handling stock inventory

Hi All

I’m pretty new on here and new to accounting in general, in fact I’m an electronic engineer trying to do accounting for a small company I created about 18 months ago. I’d appreciate if some kind folk would give me some guidance on what I should be doing from an accounting point of view.

I’ve designed a commercial product which I have yet to bring to market but I need to file my first year accounts shortly. I will 100% be filing as a micro entity.

I’ve recorded all purchases (equipment, it services, parts and services) all in the General Purchases category.

This is fine but now that I need to generate a P/L and balance sheet and don’t know how to handle the following:

1. Part inventory
  2. Finished goods ready for sale.
  3. Equipment purchased

How do these items effect the balance sheet?

1. Part inventory

My product has an integrated circuit that costs £4.80 each. I had to buy 1560 of them as a minimum order quantity which cost £7500

I have used 100 of them to build the first 100 fully assembled units.

So how do I show the remaining 1460 units stock on the balance sheet or do they just all get written off in my first years accounts?

1. Finished goods ready for sale

I have had the finished product assembled by a manufacturer and now have 100 on the shelf. The fully assembled cost was in the region of £50 a unit. How do I represent this on the balance sheet?

1. Equipment purchased

So I had to buy a significant number of pieces of equipment. Am I allowed to just write all this off in my first year of accounts or does this need to be done over several years?

I know this is a little lengthy and if it’s not an appropriate post I apologise.

Regards
Robert

Hi,

1. Part inventory
    These components seem to be essentially raw materials. If you intend or expect to convert these components into finished items for sale within a 12 month period, then they are current assets.