Just Starting Out - HELP!

I want to use Quickfile for my small company accounts but it’s very confusing!

I’m a service company, not a trading company. I’m a contractor and started my company in 2016. My company has a contract with an agency and the agency has a contract with a bank.

I use the agency’s own timesheet and invoicing system. I don’t normally invoice the agency myself. I say normally because once I created and submitted ONE invoice a few months after starting my business which was in relation to VAT due. When I started my company I applied to be VAT registered but registration didn’t get signed off until a few months later, so my first invoices using the agency’s timesheet system did not include VAT. I had to create an invoice to charge the agency for the VAT a few months later and then pay it over to HMRC.

I also want to record ALL transactions from day 1 of starting the company because the number of transactions are, on average, only 10-15 per month. I want to enter both sales and purchases. Sales have VAT and some purchases have VAT.

Do I have to create an invoice for each invoice I’ve created through the agency’s timesheet system? I won’t be sending out physical invoices like other businesses. How do I record all past sales and VAT? How do I account for the fact that some VAT quarters/returns have been submitted? I don’t want the system to create a VAT return for me because they’re all in the past.

Can I just enter journal entries rather than creating invoices and pretending to send them out for payment? It would be much easier.

I hope someone can guide me in the right direction to get things started. I’m just stuck at the moment.

Thanks.

All you need is opening balance sheet for your company and start recording transactions from beginning of year that has not been filed with authorities yet. You can mark vat quarter submitted instead of actually submitting it and same with invoices , flag as sent instead of actually sending it.