Opening sales invoices balances

I am an Accountant and impressed by what I have seen so far from QF. I have decided to put my own practice data on and mirror VAT reports for q couple of quarters. Currently on Sage. Looking for good, cheap options for my clients to use as well.
My year end is 31st December 2020 and on Cash Accounting. I have input the opening TB excluding Debtors Control (1100)
What is the best way to input all the opening client balances to QF. If it means manually entering them all with the exact date (pre 31st December 2020) then I will do this but only if necessary.
Looking for an existing Accountant more experienced in QF to help if possible.

Welcome to the club, you can create customer accounts for your clients, enter opening balances while creating, this will create an automatic invoice which you can use to tag future receipts and you can debit sales accounts with total debtors figure on your opening TB to balance journals.

Also signup to an affinity account on QF to manage your clients. QF also have the option to serving QF user as accountancy services. Good luck

1 Like

Thank you for your help and advice - I really want this software to work for me and my clients.
I can see that you are able to enter an opening balance via the “create new clients” section.
I have already imported client names and addresses from Sage but not the balances. I cannot appear to enter opening balances for existing clients, even through the modify client section.
Do I just start entering the aged invoices (prior to 31st December 2020) as invoices?

you can enter as one invoice or multiple invoices and flag it as sent instead of sending them again to your clients and put all that big figures as Dr to sales on opening TB

I have now manually entered all outstanding sales ledger balances - phew!